Update

Now seems like the perfect time for an update. I am riding through the countryside of Ireland in the way to Belfast for the Titanic exhibit.

20140517-081036.jpg

My flight to Dublin went very well. I could not fall asleep to save my life though. But as soon as we landed I hit the ground running. First stop was customs which only took around 15 minutes to get through. Soon after I had collected my luggage and was on my way. I headed over to the other terminal to collect my Dublin Bus tickets I had preordered and hopped on the Airlink Express bus towards Dublin. I got off near Trinity College, which I have yet to visit, and struggled with my luggage through the streets of Dublin. I will admit I was having a hard time figuring out where I was the signs are not very noticeable but I did my best. For the record when I asked for directions had been heading the correct way. Once I got to O’Callaghan’s my room was not yet ready so I checked my bags and left to explore. First stop was St. Stephens Green since it was right across the street. Snapped some photos and decided to take the Hop on Hop off tour bus to see the city.

I got off at the Guinness Storehouse stop and decided to use my tour voucher I got a couple weeks ago. The exhibit was pretty cool to see. At the end you could go up to the 7th floor to the bar to get a free pint of Guinness.

20140517-081358.jpg

20140517-081304.jpg

Afterwards I headed to Kilmainham Gaol the tours were almost full for the day but I luckily got the last place on the 3:00 tour. I headed across the street for lunch at the Limetree Cafe. The tour of the jail was amazing. The conditions of the prison when the prisoners were held had to have been awful. Outside of the jail was the execution yard where 13 political prisoners were executed by firing squad during the 1916 uprising.

20140517-081903.jpg
Inside Kilmainham Gaol

20140517-081915.jpg
Within the execution and stone breaking yard

20140517-081925.jpg

After the jail I hopped back in the bus and travelled to the north side of the city to the central bus station. I had to pick up my national bus tickets for Bus Eireann. I walked back to the hotel checking out the many different sights of Dublin. Once I got back I was exhausted and ready for bed.

20140517-082220.jpg
General Post Office

20140517-082231.jpg
Connolly Memorial

20140517-082242.jpg
Bullet holes from the Uprising at the General Post Office.

Leave a Reply

